Home  |  About

Assateague Light

Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, Assateague Island, VA, cir. 1867
Assateague Light The first lighthouse built atop this 22 foot bluff, was a 45 foot stone tower completed in 1833. However, in light of growing commerce and the number of shipwrecks, it proved inadequate and was replaced by the current 142 foot brick structure in 1867. Assateague, as a barrier island, is constantly changing and southward growth of the island in the intervening century and a half have left the light stranded 5 miles from Chincoteague Inlet. As an Eastern seaboard lighthouse it's unique red and white striping distinguish it as a day marker. In 1963 the original Fresnel Lens was replaced by a rotating beacon. The lighthouse is managed by the U.S. Coast Guard and is still in use today.


Location: Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, 37.9111N 75.3558W
Access: See Chincoteague Natural History Association
Date Built: Station Established 1833, Current tower commissioned 1867
Type of Structure: Conical brick tower on stone foundation with keepers house and oil house
Height: Original tower 45 feet, Current tower 142 feet
Characteristics: Flashing white
Status: Standing and Active
Copyright © 1999 - 2011 Matthew B. Jenkins, All rights reserved.  |  Privacy